Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Bread

12822061_10208443674071240_108369001_n

It’s March and it’s snowing outside. The courtyard was cleared of snow last week and we already have several more inches. I’m going to miss it next year. Western Washington is so rainy and mild during the winter. It doesn’t compare to the massive amount of snow Luleå had last year. We received a record snowfall! The most in 49 years! I always hated the cold weather, but after living near the Arctic Circle for so long, I love it! I can comfortably walk around in 20F weather wearing just a long sleeved tee.

I’m getting attached to our little IKEA furnished apartment. It’s adorable and so very Swedish. Did you know IKEA is pronounced differently in Sweden? Northern Swedes say it like this-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBhkD4Lb4yE

I’m slowly getting used to our kitchen. There’s only three plates, cups, spoons, etc…and no dishwasher. With cooking and baking almost every day, I’m washing dishes and utensils 3 or 4 times a day. Goodness! Luckily, this bread was easy on my kitchen sink.

Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite foods. I love how versatile they are. And the color is gorgeous! I’m pretty sure I could eat them every day. A certain boyfriend might get a little tired of them, though.

11852231_1116587325038363_1322589511_o

Have you guys seen a potato masher like this? I’d never seen one in Washington. I love it! Amazon has some with similar patterns. It works so great, I’m thinking of smuggling it home. Placing the potatoes in a blender would remove all of the lumps if you want a smoother batter. I like mine with a little bit of texture.

Out of all the different ways I cook sweet potatoes, I can’t believe I haven’t made a bread until now. I’ve found several recipes, but none of them were exactly what I was looking for. So, I decided to create my own.

This bread is vegan (if using flax eggs) and is refined sugar free! It’s great with some whipped butter or a dab of coconut oil. This is healthy enough to eat for breakfast and sweet enough for a snack or dessert! It will make your home smell so good!

12837219_1116587251705037_1145696016_o


I peeled and chopped the sweet potatoes into roughly 1 inch pieces. I boiled a pan of water and cooked the sweet potatoes until fork tender. They took about 10 minutes to cook. I let the potatoes cool in a colander for a few minutes and hand mashed them until few lumps remained. I measured them after they were mashed.

11100861_1116585808371848_1313528390_o

12773035_1116602481703514_1918697728_o

  • 1 ¾ cups of sifted whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • ¾ teaspoon of cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon of nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon of salt
  • A pinch of ginger
  • 1 ¼ cup of unsweetened applesauce
  • ¼ cup of pure maple syrup (can also use honey or agave syrup)
  • 2 large eggs (or 2 flax eggs)
  • 1 cup cooked and mashed sweet potatoes
  • ⅓ cup of walnuts or pecans (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F / 175C. Spray a 9×5 inch bread pan with cooking spray or rub with butter. 
  1. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl and thoroughly mix. Combine all wet ingredients (except potatoes) in a medium sized bowl. Add sweet potatoes to wet mixture and stir to mix. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and combine. Fold in nuts.
  1. Pour bread batter into prepared pan. Bake for 45-55 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  1. Let cool in the pan for 15 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack. Let cool completely before serving.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

